Collegiate FFA / Alpha Tau Alpha
Agricultural Education Association

THE OSU CFFA/ATA organization is a student organization sponsored by the Department of Agricultural Education, Communications, and 4-H Youth Development. Membership is open to any student with an interest in agricultural education, regardless of department or major field of study.

Originally there were no collegiate chapters associated with the Future Farmer's of America. However, in the 1920s, "Pug" Orr organized a college group affiliated with the Future Farmers of Oklahoma (FFO). The OSU Collegiate FFA chapter was founded in 1932 as a collegiate affiliate of the Future Farmers of America organization now renamed as FFA. CFFA's charter is thought to be the first collegiate chapter in the nation.

In spring of 1996, the OSU Collegiate FFA chapter merged with the OSU chapter of Alpha Tau Alpha, an honorary fraternity for agricultural education students. By joining the two organizations, members hoped to combine efforts to efficiently achieve a common mission--the promotion of agricultural education. Now CFFA members majoring in agricultural education with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 and who have completed 45 hours of collegiate coursework are eligible for induction into the Alpha Tau Alpha honorary fraternity.

Collegiate FFA/Alpha Tau Alpha Mission

THE MISSION of the Oklahoma State University Collegiate FFA/Alpha Tau Alpha Agricultural Education Association is to provide leadership training, social interaction, and professional development for students interested in the agricultural education discipline or in an agriculturally related field. CFFA/ATA strives to promote a total dynamic program of agricultural education within the public school system of Oklahoma.

FOR MORE information about the organization, contact Rob Terry, 448 Ag Hall, Stillwater, Oklahoma 74078, phone: 405-744-5129, or e-mail .

Department of Agricultural Education, Communications, and 4-H Youth Development

OSU College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Oklahoma State University